top of page

Maharishi Dayanand University

Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak was established through an Act of Legislative Assembly of Haryana in the year 1976 with a specific objective – “To establish and incorporate a teaching-cum-affiliating University at Rohtak for the encouragement of interdisciplinary higher education and research with special emphasis on studies of Life Sciences and Environmental and Ecological Sciences”. During the last over 26 years of its existence the University has achieved a remarkable degree of success in its expansion programmes, infrastructural developments and in academic excellence.


Moving from the limited original objective of studies in Life Sciences, the University today functions under 13 faculties with 27 post-graduate departments on the campus running 77 academic programmes.

There are 66 Boards of Studies for developing and designing courses in different disciplines.

Besides the main Campus, there are 2 satellite campuses – Regional Centre running post-graduate teaching at Rewari and National Law College at Gurgaon.

As an affiliating University, it has 126 institutions and colleges under its control with an enrolment of about 1.70 lacs students.

Among the premier professional institutions, we have the prestigious Post-Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences at Rohtak with 986 bedded hospital, Medical College and Post Graduate MD/MS Medical studies in 21 disciplines, 9 P.G. Diplomas & a Medical College at Agroha apart from a Dental College at Rohtak.

Among affiliated institutes, the University has a number of Engineering Colleges, Computer and Management Studies institutes, Pharmaceutical Colleges etc.

On Campus, we have a Directorate of Distance Education with an enrolment of 45000 students for 24 professional and non-professional courses.

The University has established six Chairs to conduct research on the lives and contributions of some eminent Indians.

bottom of page